Marie-Claire Arrieta

Dr. Marie Arrieta

Positions

Associate Professor

Cumming School of Medicine, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology

Full Member

The Calvin, Phoebe and Joan Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases

Full Member

Inflammation Research Network

Child Health & Wellness Researcher

Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute

Contact information

Background

Educational Background

Doctor of Philosophy Experimental Medicine, University of Alberta, 2011

M.Sc. Physiology, University of Alberta, 2005

B.Sc. , University of Costa Rica, 2001

Research

Areas of Research

Interactions between the early-life gut microbiome and the infant’s immune, metabolic, and neurological development.

Our research program is framed around a translational approach, in which samples collected from children undergoing clinical care or enrolled in birth cohort studies are used to characterize the microbial alterations (dysbiosis) associated with the risk to develop asthma, obesity and stress dysregulation. Our research group also examines the causality and mechanisms of these associations in mouse models, placing our work at a critical interface between clinical studies and experimental animal work. 

As an advocate of science communication to the public, Dr. Arrieta has written a best-selling public book, Let Them Eat Dirt, and is involved in several science communication initiatives within Canada and abroad, including public talks, a second book and a documentary film project.

Courses

Course number Course title Semester
CMMB 528 LAB 01 B01 Independent Studies in CMMB 2020
CMMB 528 LAB 01 B01 Independent Studies in CMMB 2021

Publications

Erik van Tilburg Bernardes, MSc
PhD student
evtberna@ucalgary.ca

Emily Mercer
PhD student
emily.mercer2@ucalgary.ca

Mackenzie Gutierrez
PhD student
mackenzie.gutierrez@ucalgary.ca

Kaetlyn Phillips
MSc student
kaetlyn.phillips1@ucalgary.ca

Van Ortega, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
van.ortega@ucalgary.ca

Mona Parizadeh, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
mona.parizadeh@ucalgary.ca

Thaís Glatthardt, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
thais.glatthardtdasi@ucalgary.ca

Julie Groizeleau
Research Associate
julie.groizeleau@ucalgary.ca

Sunita Sharma
Research Assistant
ssharma@ucalgary.ca

Michel Emond
Research Assistant
memond@ucalgary.ca

William  Nguyen
Research Assistant
william.nguyen@ucalgary.ca

Andrea Guedez
Lead Study Coordinator
andrea.guedez@ucalgary.ca

Fatimoh Kasaba
Clinical Research Assistant
fatimoh.kasaba@ucalgary.ca

Alma Tariro Muropa
Bioinformatician & Data Analyst
almatariro.muropa@ucalgary.ca

Donna Allan
HRIC 2C72
Email: dallan@ucalgary.ca
Phone: 403.220.7082

Alexandria (Allie) McCreight
Clinical Administrative Assistant
allie.mccreight@ucalgary.ca